Click here for other parts of north-west London
Hampstead Lane, Hampstead Heath, NW3
Nearest Tube: Hampstead
This house dates from 17th century, but was re-vamped in the 1760's for the Earl of Mansfield. The last private owner of the house was the Earl of Iveagh who was an avid art lover and who had built up an extensive collection of 17th and 18th century art.
When he died he bequeathed the collection to the nation and it is now on public display in Kenwood House. Highlights of the excellent collection include pieces by Gainsborough, Vermeer, Rembrandt and van Dyck.
The opulent interior, dating from the 18th century, is also worth a second glance, especially the oval library. The gardens are also very beautiful and are occasionally the picturesque venue for outdoor music concerts.
Kenwood House is open daily from 10am-6pm April to October and from 10am-4pm November to March. Entry is free.
Copyright © 1995 to 2016 Smooth Hound Systems
Smooth Hound Systems accepts no liability with regards to the accuracy of the information on this site.
Users are advised to double check information such as dates, times, prices etc.