|Copper Hall Guest House Leominster Copper Hall Guest House, South Street, Leominster, Herefordshire, HR6 8JN|
"Copper Hall is an attractive and comfortable 17th century house, within 5 minutes walk of the small Herefordshire market town of Leominster"
|World hotels > Europe > United Kingdom > Leominster > Copper Hall Guest House|
|Copper Hall is an attractive and comfortable 17th century house, within 5 minutes walk of the small Herefordshire market town of Leominster.|
The property is situated on the B4361, 13 miles north of Hereford and 10 miles south of Ludlow, and is a convenient centre for visiting the Welsh border area, the Shropshire and Malvern Hills, the beautiful Wye Valley, and the Forest of Dean.
At Copper Hall you will find a warm and friendly welcome.
|All our rooms our comfortably furnished; either with en-suite or private facilities, along with colour televisions and tea/coffee making facilities.|
A full English breakfast is provided with a vegetarian choice if require.
Open all year round.
We are able to offer off road parking.
Leominster is an old market town of Saxon origins situated in the heart of the beautiful un-spoilt Marches where the English plains meet the Welsh Mountains.
Steeped in history the town dates from the 7th Century and its first recorded name is "Llanllieni" meaning "the church on the streams" in Welsh. It was renamed by the Saxons and appears in the Doomsday Book as Leofminstre probably after Leofric Earl of Hereford husband of Godiva.
It has a turbulent past being the site of many historic battles of Celt, Roman, Saxon, Dane, Welsh, Norman, Plantagenet, Tudor, Roundhead and Royalist all have left their mark.
Signs of Leominsters' history can be clearly seen around the town, many of the streets in the centre are narrow and follow the medieval grid pattern layout and there are fine examples of Medieval and Tudor framed houses contrasting with the elegant brick built Georgian town houses.
Leominster is a part of the Black and White trail where you can discover the charm of the picturesque Black and White villages of Herefordshire.
Leominster Priory Church with its three great naves each of a different period is a reminder of the religious community, which survived and indeed flourished despite dissolution and reformation and is well worth a visit.
Within the church is the Ducking Stool last used in 1809 on the unfortunate Jenny Pipes and in fact it was the last stool to be used in England.
Leominster pronounced Lemster was famous in medieval times for the quality of its wool, from the Ryelands sheep, which became known as "Leominster Ore" (Leominster Gold). Leominster still has strong links with the surrounding agricultural community.
Leominster was an important coaching crossroads in the nineteenth century having numerous coaching inns and wagon centres many of which are still evident in the town.
Grange Court is a fine carved building which housed the Butter market with the Council Chambers on the first floor. It was demolished after 1806 on the grounds that it created a traffic obstruction and was auctioned in 1853 for £95 and re erected on its present site in the Parkland and Cricket field.
Today Leominster is well known for being an important antique centre in the region boasting a wide range of shops, galleries and markets selling antiques to suit all tastes and pockets and still bustles on market day held traditionally on Corn Square, the centre of historically fascinating town.
|Some of the attractions within easy reach of Leominster|